Spectrum Brass Quintet: Rhapsody


Product may vary slightly from image representation.
Spectrum Brass Quintet
Brian Buerkle and Scott Thornburg - Trumpet
Eric Reed - French Horn
John Rutherford - Trombone
Jacob Cameron - Tuba
Alex Trajano - Drums
Aviram Reichert - Piano
Elizabeth Stoner - Soprano

Rhapsody features the music of George Gershwin and includes selections from Porgy and Bess, American Song Suite, Strike up the Band, Walking the Dog, Fascinating Rhythm, I Got Rhythm, and Brian Buerkle's new arrangement of Rhapsody in Blue for piano, brass quintet and drums, featuring 1997 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Bronze Medal Winner, Aviram Reichert.

1. Strike Up the Band!
2. Porgy and Bess Suite
3. Walking the Dog
4. Rhapsody in Blue
5. Fascinating Rhythm
6. But Not For Me
7. Embraceable You
8. How Long Has This Been Going On?
9. The Man I Love
10. 'S Wonderful
11. I Got Rhythm

"The only way this kind of brass quintet program sounds good is if the players have terrific skills and play with abandon--not to mention with all the basics of good tone, blend, and intonation. And of course, it helps if the arrangements are imaginative. Each of these elements is most definitely true of this recording. The Spectrum Brass Quintet makes spectacular things happen, individually and collectively." -- American Record Guide 2010