Sullivan: Treasures for Trumpet


Product may vary slightly from image representation.
Robert Sullivan - Principal Trumpet, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Perhaps no other brass instrument has seen as intense an evolution of its possibilities as the trumpet. This CD strives to represent a wide variety of the characters available to the trumpeter. Many of the works are new arrangements or adaptations, and although most are infrequently heard, they are all treasures in the trumpet repertoire.

1. Cantabile et Scherzetto (Gaubert)
2. Impromptu (Ibert)
3. Air de Bravoure (Jolivet)
4. Three Preludes (Gershwin)
5. Simple Song (Bernstein)
6. Cappriccio (Gallagher)
7. Aria et Scherzo (Arutiunian)
8. Vocalise (Rachmaninoff)
9. Russian Dance (Bohme)
10. Klange der Heimat (J. Strauss)
11. Che Gelida Manina (Puccini)
12. Nessun Dorma (Puccini)
13. Irish Poems (Traditional)

"Robert Sullivan has a sweet tone and a sense of ease that allows these works to sound natural, rather than like tests of ability. All of the pieces are tuneful and enjoyable, but I am especially touched by Bernstein's 'Simple Song', Gallagher's 'Capriccio', Rachmaninov's Vocalise, Bohme's 'Russian Dance' and the Puccini arias." -- American Record Guide